Soup & Chai

Here’s a new poem for your enjoyment! Nice and simple observational poem.

cup-tea-bag-standing-window-sill-near-window-rays-bright-sunshine-beautiful-two-cups-table-87536119

(credited to: Dreamstime)

______________________________________

(An original poem by Coeur d’un Poète.)

______________________________________

I’m sitting here, waiting,
Downing soup and chai tea
while revisiting the joint
I loved to visit while on campus.

I struggle to reminisce
in a moment of sun-snow bliss
about the course and choices
of my path with promising voices.

I see myself in these stressed students
solemnly rushing through points on campus.
I envy the naivety of not knowing
what’s coming past the path that’s winding.

The stresses of learning pressing on minds,
crippling thoughts of joys and others to find;
these are stresses of the modern western student
who struggles to thive by limiting what’s spent.

All the misfortunes past pale to what’s to come
in the cold beyond of a course capital world.
Sink or swim, you need the martial skills
to survive and navigate the cruel sea of our world.

I’m downing soup and chai tea,
fully conscious of the melancholy beyond me
that marches along, beyond these walls that I see
and through these streets so travelled by many.

The students that sit on the tables nearby
sip their teas while staring at their sheets
filled with the deadlines that tend to rush on by –
those stresses of classes that are hard to keep.

The couple that sits on their lunch date
talks the time away from vocational hates.
But the world of education is a solitary meditation
that challenges the notion of loving conciliation.

Feeling the fortunes of lingering fate,
I wondered on the state of old loving passions.
In the days that were, many could have been
but never shared the hearts they had been given.

These are the thoughts that occupy my mind
here, in the nexus of the learning nation.
The journeys that are and can be for all
aren’t bleak, should we will to stand tall

I sit in anticipation of the emancipation
of the youthful nation, and proclamation
of belief by us all, of these blissful possibilities –
a hope flowing endlessly, for you and for me.

Here, in this territory consecrated to higher learning
am I sitting calmly, on a quiet afternoon.
Along, I’m waiting, downing soup and chai tea,
while silently contemplating the hopes that will be.

Author: Coeur d'un Poète

I'm an Arts graduate now making a living in the world of business. I've had a passion for poems and stories before all of this. C'est la vie. Bilingue, ENG-FRA.

Leave a Reply

