What is love?

Suprise! Here is a poem on relationships – specifically, moments in a date when a hopeful guy like yours truly thinks about what the future can hold for himself and his date.

As I always believe, a poet needs to write about life in all its’ forms – not just the positive moments. So if this poem feels sad for you…well 1) I don’t think you’re not reading the poem properly, and 2) don’t shy away from things that make you uncomfortable.

Concept of love and coffee

(Creditamazednow.com)

_____________________________
An original poem by Coeur d’un Poète.
_____________________________

Is this a collision course
we’re on,
or just a near-miss?
I’ve burned myself so often
on love
when it had barely begun.
I’ve long seen my friends
sharing their hearts
while my ticker stayed whole.
All that time, the question
“what is love”
lingered through my soul.

Is this ambition for real,
or a fiction
inside my reserved mind?
In this fast-paced century,
am I really lost
in the length of a lonely journey?
I am only as capable
as the core
of the parts of my whole.
Yet love is so foreign
that I’d be mistaken
in acting of desperation.

Is the sum of courage
enough to win
you over to my side?
In this day and age,
so shallow is faith
in the health of human hearts.
What’s this ideal of love
if not the fear
of crushing solitude?
Are you the one heir
to my heart, the
start of an awesome pair ?

Author: Coeur d'un Poète

I'm an Arts graduate now making a living in the world of business. I've had a passion for poems and stories before all of this. C'est la vie. Bilingue, ENG-FRA.

Leave a Reply

