Midnight

I wrote this one a few years back when I was feeling a little more down and doubtful about my place in the world. It is our responsibility to constantly revisit the dark corners of our minds and accept who we were, who we are. While these thoughts are not mine now, I had serious doubts when I wrote this.

This poem is inspired by the classic poem “Do not go gentle into that good night” by Dylan Thomas, which was featured in the Christopher Nolan movie “Interstellar”. I hope you enjoy this poem, but remember: don’t let the darkness within yourself grab a hold of you.

rockwell-kent-twilight-of-man

Artist: Rockwell Kent, 1926. ©deYoung.

https://art.famsf.org/rockwell-kent/twilight-man-1926127

_____________________________________________

Is this the end?
Have I reached my twilight,
my silent good night?

The clock struck midnight
in utter void of life
and suddent end of all light.

Is this the edge
of the cliff,
the end of the
shortened script –
the gap between
my time and the space?

I seem to have gone
as far as I
could possibly go
on this winding road
to the edge
of the night.

Is this all there is
to what is my journey
where no more time is given?

This is the judging night
before the unlikely sun sight,
a wrong that shades a right.

Is this the end,
that feared edge –
is this all there is?
The clock strikes midnight.
Have I reached my twilight,
my silent good night?

____________________________

An original poem by Coeur d’un poète.

Author: Coeur d'un Poète

I'm an Arts graduate now making a living in the world of business. I've had a passion for poems and stories before all of this. C'est la vie. Bilingue, ENG-FRA.

Leave a Reply

