Land of the Trees

Here is a poem I posted on another blog that I have a lot of pride for making. I hope you enjoy it.

Originally posted on Weekly Writing Prompts on 02/27/2017.

An original poem by Coeur d’un Poète. 
________________________________________

The green sight that soothes my eyes
slides between the shades of sunlight.
I followed the last chain of footsteps
into this forest full of radiant flora.
Breathing in the air that bears of calm beauty,
I let conscience and calm wash over me.
Within the sights and sounds of sweet serenity,
there’s no path on which I’d rather be.
There’s no time lost that’s not regained
in a space both a distance and a center.
I place my hand on the tree’s periphery
to feel the duality of presence and absence,
lost from thought but present in the beat,
finding fullness that felt absent on old paths.

This is the land of dreams, a landscape of life
that lives a pace alone, and paces along.
These are the trees that stand beyond many,
that endure duress and the tests of time.
Theirs are monuments to moments long gone
of a nature sans master or needs to nurture.
I ventured in a forest of purest foliage,
in a voyage through time; a Man-less memorial.
As I march on the path of pride and resilience,
I reflect on the endurance that’s passed on to me.
Tree leaves dance in the music of the wind,
but trunks stand still, unbeaten and eternal.
I am in a hall so timelessly natural
that outlives all that rises and falls.

The foliage revives the life in my lungs,
the pure air cleanses the senses within.
I recall immediately the necessity of these trees,
yet I remember that they do not need me.
Leaves dance down and fall to the ground.
In them is found the beauty of no sound.
I take a breath as the path goes on,
and fauna feigns presence in this living forest.
Sound sets their stage where sight does not,
their voices resound in a musical mosaic.
I am grounded, matured on this land,
communing with care in the core of my nature.
In the home of fathers and ancestors distant,
I am present and thriving with the Trees.

__________________________________________________

by Coeur d’un Poète.

Author: Coeur d'un Poète

I'm an Arts graduate now making a living in the world of business. I've had a passion for poems and stories before all of this. C'est la vie. Bilingue, ENG-FRA.

Leave a Reply

