Alexander

This short poem I wrote is based on a popular misquote by Plutarch.

You can read the misquote here:
http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/526796-when-alexander-saw-the-breadth-of-his-domain-he-wept

the-night-sky

Photo: Copyright © 2017 500px.

https://iso.500px.com/night-sky-photo-tutorial/

______________________________

And so, I sat,
contemplating the end
of a path
without much substance.
So I wept,
for there was
no time remaining
to explore it.

I mourned the death
of the man
I could have been
instead of building
on that which was
but won’t be again.
Thus, I wept once more
for what I am not.

I wept for them;
the hearts I loved.
Had I shared
and opened mine too…
I wept for them,
the undiscovered countries
and the buried stories
that could have been
but never were mine.

And so, I sat,
contemplating the shallowness
of my domains.
Thus, I wept,
for I understood then
that there was little
I truly did conquer.

Author: Coeur d'un Poète

I'm an Arts graduate now making a living in the world of business. I've had a passion for poems and stories before all of this. C'est la vie. Bilingue, ENG-FRA.

Leave a Reply

